Queer Theory Videos

BODIES, FIGURATIONS, WORLDS: Video Introductions to Queer Theory

Three Videos

by Antke A. Engel (guest professor for gender and queer studies) and Filmfetch (Tali Tiller; Magda Wystub), FernUniversity Hagen, 2021

In an artistic and experimental academic form these videos provide introductions to queer theory as a critique of structures of domination and a way of thinking difference through dynamics of power and desire. Sex, gender and sexuality, the power of language, and resistance to planetary inequalities and histories of violence are recurrent topics.

Online available (in German with English subtitles).

Saboura Naqshband, Pasquale V. Rotter, Neo Hülcker and a drawing by Laylah Ali (Courtesy of the artist) in FIGURATIONEN, Foto: Engel und Filmfetch, FernUni Hagen

“In Queer Theory, power fantasises. Power regulates. And power desires. No heteronormativity without desire. But no critique of power either.” This is the opening of one of the video introductions to queer theory created by guest professor Antek Engel (in the subject area of Education and Difference) together with Berlin filmmakers Tali Tiller and Magda Wystub (Filmfetch) at the FernUniversität in Hagen. The three short films take an experimental artistic approach, presenting queer theory as a specific way of thinking about difference and critiquing power. In order to do this, they pay particular attention to the entanglement of power and desire.

Under the titles BODIES (20:16 min), FIGURATIONS (13:16 min) and WORLDS (16:00 min), the films offer insights into the themes of gendered socialisation, language and representation, as well as social and planetary inequalities. Topics discussed range from “doing sex_gender” to critiques of hetero- and homonormativity, and posthuman “humus thinking” in the technosciences.

Three hybrid beings, simultaneously human, animal and machine, appear alongside curly, square and round brackets plus various guests, staging a grand display of queer movements, terms and images. Within settings which are surreal, ambiguous and at the same time precisely composed, the videos invoke concepts and theories in a way that invites the audience to think and to embark on further research.

“In their artistic and experimental form, the films test out new paths for the genre of educational videos,” says Professor Katharina Walgenbach, “because they invite us to think, rather than feeding us bite-sized pieces of knowledge. The aesthetic plays an important role: not only because it makes the videos more accessible, but also because it generates the queerness which is the central theme.”

The sound duo HYENAZ (Kathryn Fischer and Adrienne Teicher) developed the audio art for the videos. Saboura Naqshband, Pasquale Virginie Rotter and Neo Hülcker, alongside Jayrôme C. Robinet (spoken word) perform in fantastical costumes by Kallia Kefala. The filmmakers Tali Tiller and Magda Wystub, with whom Engel co-directed the videos, transformed the acting and the set (graphics by Gabi Garland) using their green screen editing to create a complex marvel of small details and bold strokes.

The videos were produced at the FernUniversität in Hagen in the subject area of Education and Difference (Professor Katharina Walgenbach), with funding from the national and federal state equal opportunity program (Professorinnenprogramms II), as well as from the subject area and the equality policy at the FernUni.

On Friday March 12, 2021, 4:30 – 6:30 pm CET, the videos will be presented online as the final gig of FernUni Hagen’s week of Gender Days, organized by the Gender Equality department. Antke Engel, Tali Tiller, and Magda Wystub (Filmfetch) will be present, looking forward to feedback and exchange.

Queer Theory Videos

KÖRPER, FIGURATIONEN, WELTEN. Einführungen in Queer Theorie

Drei Videos von Antke A. Engel (Gastprofessur für Gender & Queer Studies) und Filmfetch (Tali Tiller; Magda Wystub), FernUniversität Hagen 2021

künstlerisch-experimentell und wissenschaftlich wird queere Herrschaftskritik bezogen auf Körper, Sexualität, Sprache und planetarische Ungleichheitsverhätnisse behandelt.

Online verfügbar. (dt. und engl. Untertitel)


Saboura Naqshband, Pasquale V. Rotter, Neo Hülcker
in KÖRPER, Foto: Engel und Filmfetch, FernUni Hagen

“In der Queer Theorie phantasiert die Macht. Reguliert die Macht. Begehrt die Macht. Keine Heteronormativität ohne Begehren. Doch auch keine Herrschaftskritik.” So beginnt eines der Videos zur Einführung in Queer Theorie, die Gastprofessor*in Antke Antek Engel (Lehrgebiet Bildung und Differenz) zusammen mit den Berliner Filmemacher*innen Tali Tiller und Magda Wystub (Filmfetch) an der FernUniversität in Hagen erstellt hat. Die drei kurzen Filme präsentieren in künstlerisch-experimenteller Weise Queer Theorie als eine spezielle Form des Differenzdenkens und der Herrschaftskritik. Zu diesem Zwecke lenken sie besondere Aufmerksamkeit auf die Verwicklungen von Macht und Begehren.

Unter den Titeln KÖRPER (20:16 min), FIGURATIONEN (13:16 min) und WELTEN (16:00 min) eröffnen sich Einblicke in die Themen Geschlechtersozialisation, Sprache und Repräsentation sowie soziale und planetarische Ungleichheitsverhältnisse. Es spannt sich ein Bogen vom ‚doing sex_gender’ über die Kritik an Hetero- und Homonormativität bis zum posthumanen ‚Humusdenken’ der Technowissenschaften.

Drei hybride Wesen, zugleich Mensch, Tier und Maschine, inszenieren gemeinsam mit Geschweifter, Eckiger und Runder Klammer sowie verschiedenen Gästen ein Feuerwerk queerer Bewegungen, Begriffe und Bilder. In surrealen, vieldeutigen, dabei präzise komponierten Settings rufen die Videos Konzepte und Theorien in einer Weise auf, die zum Nachdenken und zur weiteren Recherche einlädt.

„In ihrer künstlerisch-experimentellen Form erproben die Videos neue Wege für das Genre der Lehrvideos,“ so Professor*in Katharina Walgenbach: „Die Ästhetik spielt hierbei eine wichtige Rolle: Nicht einfach, weil sie die Videos zugänglicher macht, sondern weil sie die Queerness hervorbringt, um die es thematisch geht.”

Das Sound-Duo HYENAZ (Kathryn Fischer und Adrienne Teicher) hat die Audiokunst für die Videos entwickelt. Saboura Naqshband, Pasquale Virginie Rotter und Neo Hülcker sowie Jayrôme C. Robinet (Spoken Word) performen in den phantastischen Kostümen von Kallia Kefala. Die Filmemacher*innen Tali Tiller und Magda Wystub, mit denen gemeinsam Antke Engel Regie geführt hat, haben Schauspiel und Bühnenbild (Grafik: Gabi Garland) mit ihrem Greenscreen Editing in ein komplexes Wunderwerk kleiner Details und großer Würfe verwandelt.

Die Videos sind an der FernUniversität in Hagen im Lehrgebiet Bildung und Differenz (Professorin Dr.in Katharina Walgenbach) produziert und aus Mitteln des Professorinnenprogramms II des Bundes und der Länder, des Lehrgebiets sowie des Gleichstellungskonzepts der FernUniversität finanziert worden.

Am Freitag 12. März 2021, 16.30 – 18.30 werden die Videos im Rahmen der von Gleichstellungsteam organisierten Gender Days der FernUni Hagen online präsentiert. Antke Engel, Tali Tiller und Magda Wystub (Filmfetch) freuen sich auf Feedback und Austausch.
Bitte anmelden: gender(at)fernuni-hagen.de