2011

Race and Queer Theory in the Age of Obama

Cathy Cohen
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 6
Talk, June 12, 2012, 7.30pm, ICI-Berlin

Changes in our understanding of the racialized state, as experienced in the United States in the era of President Obama for example, inform both queer theory and queer politics. How does the work of black queer theorists as academics and activists re-imagine the politics of intimacy? How is race in/directly deployed in debates over the status and scope of queer subjects?

Continue reading

Rethinking Ethical Feminism and Sexual Politics through uBuntu

Drucilla Cornell
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 5
Talk, May 15, 2012, 7.30pm, ICI-Berlin

Transnational feminism, as both an ethical ideal and an actual struggle to form political alliances, raises some of the most difficult and burning issues about what it means to challenge profound Eurocentric biases. Alliances, particularly when including sexual politics, demand of us that we rework some of our most cherished feminist ideas, such as freedom and equality, without of course giving up on those ideals. In order to do so, Cornell examines the potentials of uBuntu, a non-Western (South African) ethics.

Continue reading

Encountering Sexual Aliens:
State Sovereignty and the Heteronormative Mechanism
at Work on the Margins of Taiwan

Antonia Chao
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 4
Talk 24. April 2012, ICI Berlin

Based on ethnographic research conducted on Taiwan’s three crucial sites of national borders, this talk mines the intersections between border control, state sovereignty, national belonging and “perverted sexualities”. The focus will be on three forms of subjects, perceived as “sexual aliens”, whose trans-migratory acts violate the principle of biological and heterosexual reproduction .

Continue reading

Postracial Europe?
Minority Activism and the Queering of Ethnicity

Fatima El-Tayeb
The Subtle Racialization of Sexuality 3
Talk, 14. November, 2011, 19.30, ICI-Berlin

In her talk El-Tayeb traces forms of racialization rooted in very particular configurations of race, religion, colonialism, sexuality, nation, and “Europeanness.” These configurations situate racialized communities in a “queer” space and time constellation that in turn provides the source for trans-local strategies of resistance. The talk focuses in part on the spatio-temporal queering of ethnicity through a neoliberal restructuring of the city, in which the symbolic inclusion of the white LGBT community is dependent on the exclusion of people of colour and on the erasure of queer of colour positionality.

Continue reading

On Not Becoming a National Part:
Willfulness as Political Art

Sara Ahmed
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 2
Talk, October 27, 2011, 7.30pm, ICI-Berlin

This lecture rethinks national citizenship as “technology of the will.” And it reflects on wilfulness as political art – a political art which deals in the field of the ongoing difficulty of speaking about racism, as well as queer of colour activism. According to national citizenship the “would be” citizen must be willing to make their will conditional on the national will. The national, however, defines itself as the general will.

Continue reading

The Cost of Getting Better:
Ecologies of Race, Sex, and Disability

Jasbir Puar
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 1
Talk, June 7, 2011, 7.30pm, ICI-Berlin

Can affective connectivities and conviviality enable a rethinking of neoliberal stratification? Discourses surrounding queer suicide reproduce problematic assumptions not only about race, class, and gender, but also bodily health, debility, and capacity. Jasbir Puar links this to Dan Savage’s “It Gets Better” project.

Continue reading

subtle? how sexuality gets racialized

The Subtle Racialization of Sexuality series
Workshop, April 23/24, 2012, TrIQ, Berlin

How is sexuality deployed for political ends? … in official state politics, in the media, in activism? Do political struggles acknowledge intersections between homo- and transphobia, able-bodiedness, and racism? Is “subtle” racialization a euphemism, or does it allow us to point out particular forms of dis/articulating racism? The workshop explores in more depth the discussions initiated by the lecture series „“The Subtle Racialization of Sexuality“ through activating knowledge and experiences from activism and project work.

Continue reading

The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality

Queer Theory, the Aftermath of Colonial History, and the Late Modern State
Lecture series June 2011 – June 2012 at the ICI-Berlin

Self-proclaimed liberal and pluralist Western states happily turn to gender and sexual politics in order to demonstrate their presumed progressiveness. They find support from some parts of feminist and LGBTI activism that regard the (neo)liberal state and diversity policies as instrumental in achieving integration and recognition. Such alliances have recently been criticized for fostering new social divisions and endorsing occidentalist and sometimes racist premises. Debates around this critique have tended to reproduce the political figure of antagonism, polarizing the dominant white middle class against various minoritized positions. This lecture series seeks instead to bring to the fore the nuances of the critique and aims at advancing queer sexual politics that take into consideration the subtle racializations of sexuality and the aftermath of colonial history.

Continue reading

2011

Race and Queer Theory in the Age of Obama

Cathy Cohen
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 6
Vortrag 12. Juni 2012, 19.30, ICI-Berlin

Wandlungen in unserem Verständnis vom rassisierten Staat, wie z. B. in den USA in der Ära der Präsidentschaft Obamas, inspirieren sowohl Queer Theory als auch queere Politiken. Wie werde in den Arbeiten von Schwarzen Queertheoretiker*innen als Akademiker*innen und Aktivist*innen Politiken der Intimität reimaginiert? Wie wird race (in)direkt in Debatten über den Status des queeren Subjekts und dessen politischer Reichweite entwickelt?

Continue reading

Rethinking Ethical Feminism and Sexual Politics through uBuntu

Drucilla Cornell
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 5
Vortrag 15. Mai 2012, 19.30, ICI-Berlin

Transnationaler Feminismus – sowohl die ethische Idee als auch der tatsächliche Kampf, um politische Bündnisse zu bilden – entsteht aus den schwierigsten und brenzligsten Streitpunkten darüber, was es heißt, tiefgreifende eurozentrische Machtasymmetrien in Frage zu stellen. Bündnisse – besonders, wenn sie sexuelle Politiken einbeziehen – fordern uns dazu auf, einige unserer meistgeschätzten feministischen Ideen – wie Freiheit und Gleichheit – zu überarbeiten, ohne diese Ideale aufzugeben. Um dies zu tun, untersucht Cornell die Potenziale von uBuntu, einer nicht-westlicher (südafrikanischen) Ethik.

Continue reading

Encountering Sexual Aliens:
State Sovereignty and the Heteronormative Mechanism
at Work on the Margins of Taiwan

Antonia Chao
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 4
Vortrag, 24. April 2012, ICI Berlin

Der Vortrag basiert auf einer ethnografischen Forschung, die in den drei Kreuzungsplätzen der Staatsgrenzen von Taiwan durchgeführt wurde, und beleuchtet die Intersektionen zwischen Grenzkontrolle, Staatssouveränität, nationaler Zugehörigkeit und ‚perversen Sexualitäten‘. Der Fokus liegt auf drei Formen von Subjekten, die als sexuelle Aliens betrachten werden und deren trans-migratorische Akte das Prinzip der biologischen und heterosexuellen Reproduktion übertreten.

Continue reading

Postracial Europe?
Minority Activism and the Queering of Ethnicity

Fatima El-Tayeb
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 3
Vortrag 14. November 2011, 19.30, ICI-Berlin

In ihrem Vortrag spürt El-Tayeb Formen von Rassisierung nach, die in sehr speziellen Konfigurationen von race, Religion, Kolonialismus, Sexualität, Nation und „Europäertum“ verwurzelt sind. Diese Konfiguration situierte rassisierte Gemeinschaften in einen „queeren“ Raum-Zeit-Konstellation, die wiederum als Quelle für translokale Widerstandsstrategien wirkt. Ein Fokus liegt auf dem raum-zeitlichen Queeren von Ethnizität durch eine neoliberale Restrukturierung der Stadt, in der die symbolische Inklusion der weißen LGBT-Gemeinschaft von der Exklusion von PoC und der Löschung von QPoC-Positionalität abhängt.

Continue reading

On Not Becoming a National Part:
Willfulness as Political Art

Sara Ahmed
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 2
Vortrag, 27.11.2011, 19:30, ICI-Berlin

Der Vortrag denkt nationale Staatsbürgerschaft als Technologie des Wissens um. Dabei wird über den Eigenwillen als politische Kunst reflektierte – eine politische Kunst, die im Feld der anhalten Schwierigkeit handelt, sowohl über Rassismus als auch über Queer-of-Color-Aktivismus zu sprechen. Gemäß nationaler Staatsbürgerschaft muss der/die Möchtegern-Staatsbürger*in bereit sein, ihren Willen vom nationalen Willen abhängig zu machen. Der nationale Wille definiert sich hingegen als allgemeiner Wille.

Continue reading

The Cost of Getting Better:
Ecologies of Race, Sex, and Disability

Jasbir Puar
The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality 1
Vortrag, ICI, Berlin, 7. Juni 2011

Gibt es ein Potenzial für affektive Konnektivitäten und Geselligkeiten, um neoliberale Stratifizierung umzudenken? Diskurse rund um queeren Suizid reproduzieren problematische Vorannahmen nicht nur über race, Klasse und Gender, sondern auch über körperliche Gesundheit, Schwächen und Stärken. Jasbir Puar verbindet diese mit Dan Savage’s „It Gets Better“-Kampagne.

Continue reading

subtil? wie sexualität rassisiert wird

Teil der Reihe: The Subtle Racialization of Sexuality
Workshop am 23./24. April 2012, TrIQ, Berlin

Wie wird mit Sexualität Politik gemacht? … von Seiten des Staates, der queer-feministischen Bewegungen, in den Medien? Wie können politische Kämpfe gegen Homophobie, Hetero- und Körpernormativität sowie Rassismus produktiv ineinandergreifen? Ist „subtil“ der richtige Ausdruck, wenn Sexualpolitiken so häufig ihre Verwicklung mit Kolonial- und Migrationsgeschichte ignorieren? Der Workshop vertieft Diskussionen der Vortragsreihe „The Subtle Racialization of Sexuality“, indem Erfahrungen und Erkenntnisse aus Projektarbeit und Aktivismus eingebracht werden.

Continue reading

The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality

Queer Theory, the Aftermath of Colonial History, and the Late Modern State
Vortragsreihe Juni 2011 – Juni 2012 am ICI-Berlin

Gender- und Sexualpolitiken dienen dem sich liberal verstehenden Westen neuerdings dazu, eine vermeintliche Progressivität zur Schau zu stellen. Mitunter findet dies Unterstützung von feministischen und LGBTI-Kreisen, ein Phänomen, das unter den Begriffen Homonormativität (Lisa Duggan) und Homonationalismus (Jasbir Puar) diskutiert wird. Solche – gewollten oder ungewollten – Allianzen befördern okzidentalistische und rassistische Überlegenheitsphantasien. Was bedeutet es, queere sexuelle Politiken zu entwickeln, die die Auswirkungen von Sklavenhandel, Kolonialgeschichte und rassistischen Migrationsregimen ernst nehmen? Wie lässt sich Aufmerksamkeit für die – manchmal subtilen – Rassisierungen der Sexualität gewinnen? Die Vortragsreihe legt den Fokus auf antirassistische, Queer of Color und/oder migrantische Perspektiven, die das sexuelle Imaginäre in westlichen Öffentlichkeiten und neoliberalen Staatspolitiken analysieren – und queere Gegen-Narrative entwerfen.

Continue reading