director & team

Antke Engel (director)

Antke Engel is an independent scholar, cultural producer, and consultant in the fields of queer, feminist and poststructuralist theory, political philosophy, visual cultural studies and queer art. She received her Ph.D. in Philosophy at Potsdam University in 2001 with a thesis on queer politics of representation and the strategy of undisambiguation, published under the title Wider die Eindeutigkeit (2002). In 2006 she founded the Institute for Queer Theory and since then functions as its director.

She held visiting professorships at Hamburg University (2003/2005), Vienna University (2011), and Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin (2016). 2007-2009 she was a research fellowship at the Institute for Cultural Inquiry (ICI-Berlin). Her research on connections between neoliberal economy and the diversification of genders and sexualities lead to the book publication Bilder von Sexualität und Ökonomie (2009), comprised in English in the essay The Surplus of Paradoxes (2013), furthermore the edited volume Hegemony and Heteronormativity (2011, together with Maria do Mar Castro Varela and Nikita Dhawan), and the international conference Desiring Just Economies / Just Economies of Desire (co-organized with Nikita Dhawan, Christoph Holzhey, and Volker Woltersdorff). At the ICI-Berlin she also co-organized the discussion The Power of Tolerance (between Wendy Brown and Rainer Forst) and facilitated the lecture series The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality: Queer Theory, the Aftermath of Colonial History, and the Late-Modern State (featuring Jasbir Puar, Sara Ahmed, Fatima El-Tayeb, Antonia Chao, Drucilla Cornell, and Cathy Cohen) as well as Desire’s Multiplicity and Serendipity.

Antke Engel is particularly interested in experimenting on exceptional formats of events: With three international workshops (2003-2005) she explored possibilities of participatory and de-hierarachizing modes of communication, in order to foster queer theoretical and political exchange within Europe, and Eastern Europe in particular. The format of the Queer Salon (2009/10) provided a space of encounter for multiplicities and open futures. In 2012 Jess Dorrance and Antke Engel started a series of events at the NGbK Berlin called Bossing Images. The Power of Images, Queer Art, and Politics.

Apart from extensive teaching, lecturing, and publishing Antke Engel is engaged in cultural politics and activism, and since 2010 also works as a consultant promoting the concept of queerversity. In her work she combines social sciences, cultural studies, and philosophical abstraction. Making use of theories of hegemony she proposes connections between deconstruction, artistic pratices, and the critique of relations of power and domination. Her favored field of interest is queer cultural politics, particularly visual representations in media, film, and art

publications
personal website

Francis Seeck

Francis Seeck is author, anti-discrimination trainer, Phd candidate and activist. They are writing, researching and giving talks and workshops on the topics of Queer and Trans Studies, feminist theory, classism, funeral practices and mourning under conditions of Neoliberalism, Queer Anthropology, Affect Studies, Care, Queer Death Studies and Anti-discrimination.

Francis studied Cultural Studies and European Ethnology in Frankfurt/Oder, Washington D.C. and Berlin, is currently working on their PhD „Mehr als glitzernde Schaumbäder“ – Kollektive Care Praktiken in trans* Räumen in Deutschland und der Schweiz“ (collective care practices within trans* and non-binary activism) at the Institute for European Ethnology at Humboldt University Berlin, and in 2018 Visiting Fellow at the Centre for Gender Studies at Basel University. 2017 Francis Seeck’s book „Recht auf Trauer. Bestattungen aus machtkritischer Perspektive“ (The right to grief. Funeral practices from a intersectional perspective) has been published at edition assemblage. Since 2017 they are part of the network GenderKompetenzZentrum; since 2018 they are part of the team of the Institute for Queer Theory.

personal website

Ferdiansyah Thajib

Ferdiansyah Thajib is a member of KUNCI Cultural Studies Center, Yogyakarta Indonesia. KUNCI is a research collective which focuses on critical knowledge production and sharing through cross-disciplinary encounter, action-research and vernacular education with and across community spaces. Ferdi Thajib is currently a Phd Candidate at the Institute for Social and Cultural Anthropology, Freie Universität Berlin. His life work is situated in the intersections of theory and praxis, with specific research interests on queer modes of endurance and forms of affective entanglement in everyday life. Since summer 2017 Ferdi is part of the iQt team. Among others he conceptualizes and co-organizes the series „When does it become violence?“

Former team members

Jess Dorrance

Jess Dorrance is a writer, curator, activist, and and doctoral student in Performance Studies at University of California, Berkeley. She writes about the intersections between art, performance, and queer, feminist, and anti-racist politics. She holds an MA in Art History (2014) from McGill University (thesis on queer visibility, representation, and trauma), and has been working with the Institute for Queer Theory since 2008.

While living in Berlin (2008-2012) Jess has been actively envolved in all areas of running the Institute for Queer Theory: Among others, she co-organize the event “Geocultures & Panic: Perverted” (2008), the conference “Queer Futurities – today” (2009) and the workshop “The Sexual Politics of Utopia” (2009), and curated  short film programs for activist and academic events, including “Oh Economy, Up Yours!” (Berlin, 2010) and “Time-Queering Against the Grain: Utopic Visions That Can’t Be Stopped” (Berlin, 2009). Since 2011 she organizes, with Dr. Antke Engel and the Institute for Queer Theory Berlin, an ongoing series of events on the power of images, queer art, and politics called Bossing Images, and co-edited the book Bossing Images (NGBK, 2012).

Jule Jakob Govrin

Jule Jakob Govrin is based as a philosopher, queer theorist and literary scholar in Berlin. Their main research interests are theories of desire, philosophies of the body, poststructuralist theories of language and power, feminist philosophies, and literary theory. After studying philosophy and comparative literature science at Freie Universität Berlin and Paris VIII, they are currently working on their PhD on the entanglements of desire and economy.

They has beeen involved with the Institute for Queer Theory since the Desiring Just Economies / Just Economies of Desire conference in 2010. From 2013-2016 they contributed regularly to the running of the institute. They co-organized the lecture series Desire’s Multiplicity and Serendipity (2014–15), and in 2016 co-edited Pleasures in Complexity and Confusion. 10 years Institute for Queer Theory

leitung & team

Antke Engel (Leitung)

Antke Engel ist promovierte Philosophin, feministische Queer Theoretikerin und freiberuflich in Wissenschaft, Beratung und Kulturproduktion tätig. Ihre Arbeitsschwerpunkte sind Sexualitäts- und Begehrenstheorien, queer/ing art und visuelle Kultur, interdependente Macht- und Herrschaftskritik sowie postrukturalistische Philosophie. Sie hat 2001 an der Universität Potsdam mit einer Arbeit zu queerer Politik der Repräsentation und der Strategie der VerUneindeutigung promoviert. 2006 hat sie das Institut für Queer Theory gegründet, dessen Leitung sie seitdem innehat.

Sie ist in der universitären Lehre aktiv und immer wieder als Gastprofessorin für Queer Studies tätig (Universität Hamburg 2003/2005, Universität Wien 2011, Alice Salomon Hochschule Berlin 2016). U.a. führt sie auf Einladung als externe Wissenschaftlerin Promotionskolloquien durch. Augenblicklich schreibt sie als Visiting Senior Fellow am Gender Institute der London School of Economics an ihrem Buch The Sexual Political.  2007-2009 war sie  Research Fellow am Institute for Cultural Inquiry (ICI-Berlin). Ihre dortige Forschung zum Zusammenhang von neoliberaler Ökonomie und der Diversifizierung geschlechltlicher und sexueller Lebensformen ist in die Buchpublikation Bilder von Sexualität und Ökonomie (2009), die Herausgabe von Hegemony and Heteronormativity (2011, gemeinsam mit Maria do Mar Castro Varela und Nikita Dhawan) sowie die Organisation der internationalen Konferenz Desiring Just Economies / Just Economies of Desire (gemeinsam mit Nikita Dhawan, Christoph Holzhey und Volker Woltersdorff) gemündet. In Kooperation mit dem ICI-Berlin hat sie außerdem den Diskussionsabend The Power of Tolerance sowie die Vortragsreihen The Subtle Racializations of Sexuality: Queer Theory, the Aftermath of Colonial History, and the Late-Modern State und Desire’s Multiplicity and Serendipity organisiert.

Antke Engel hat besonderes Interesse am Experimentieren mit Veranstaltungsformaten: Bei drei internationalen Workshops (2003-2005) wurde nach partizipatorischen und enthierarchisierenden Kommunikationsformen gesucht, die den queer-theoretischen und politischen Austausch in Europa, insbesondere mit osteuropäischen WissenschaftlerInnen befördern sollten. Der Queer Salon (2009/10) wurde entworfen als ein Ort, an dem das Vielfältige und Bewegte aufeinander treffen. 2012 hat Antke Engel zusammen mit Jess Dorrance an der NGbK Berlin die Veranstaltungsreihe Bossing Images. Die Macht der Bilder, Queere Kunst und Politik gestartet.

Neben zahlreichen Lehraufträgen und einer ausgiebigen Vortragstätigkeit war Antke Engel immer auch publizistisch sowie kultur- und bewegungspolitisch aktiv, seit 2010 zudem mit dem Konzept Queerversity in der Politikberatung. Sie vertritt eine Verflechtung sozial- und kulturwissenschaftlicher Ansätze und betont die Vereinbarkeit gesellschaftlicher Macht- und Herrschaftskritik mit dekonstruktiven Ansätzen. Ihr besonderes Interesse gilt kulturellen Repräsentationsformen, insbesondere visuellen Darstellungen in Medien, Film und Kunst sowie der Frage, wie sich hier queere Transformationen vollziehen.

veröffentlichungen
persönliche website

Francis Seeck

Francis Seeck ist Autor_in, Antidiskriminierungstrainer_in, Doktorand_in und Aktivist_in. Francis schreibt, forscht und hält Vorträge sowie Fortbildungen zu den Themen Queer und Trans Studies, Klassismus, Queerfeministische Ethnographie, Care, Queer Death Studies und Antidiskriminierung.

Francis studierte Kulturwissenschaften und Europäische Ethnologie in Frankfurt/Oder, Washington D.C. und Berlin, schreibt gegenwärtig an der Doktorarbeit „Mehr als glitzernde Schaumbäder“ – Eine Ethnographie kollektiver Care Praktiken in trans* und nicht-binären Räumen“ am Institut für Europäische Ethnologie der Humboldt Universität Berlin und ist im Sommersemester 2018 Visiting Fellow am Zentrum Gender Studies der Universität Basel. Im August 2017 erschien Francis Seeck’s Buch „Recht auf Trauer. Bestattungen aus machtkritischer Perspektive“ bei edition assemblage. Seit 2017 ist Francis beim Genderkompetenz Zentrum aktiv und seit 2018 im Institut für Queer Theory.

persönliche website

Ferdiansyah Thajib

Ferdiansyah Thajib ist Mitglied des KUNCI Cultural Studies Center, Yogyakarta, Indonesien. KUNCI ist ein Forschungskollektiv, das um kritische Wissensproduktion bemüht ist und zu diesem Zwecke disziplinen-übergreifende Begegnungen, Aktionsforschung und Alltagsbildung mit und zwischen unterschiedlichen community-Projekten initiiert. Ferdi Thajib schreibt momentan an einer Doktorarbeit am Institut für Sozial- und Kulturanthropologie der Freien Universität Berlin. Er arbeitet an den Schnittstellen von Theorie und Praxis, mit einem besonderen Interesse an Alltagsleben und den queeren Weisen des Überdauerns und affektiver Verwicklung, die damit einhergehen. Seit Sommer 2017 ist Ferdi im Team des iQt engagiert. U.a. konzipiert und organisiert er die Reihe „Wann wird es Gewalt?“

Ehemalige

Jess Dorrance

Jess Dorrance ist Autorin, Kuratorin und Aktivistin. Sie interessiert sich für die Verwobenheiten feministischer, anti-rassistischer und queerer Politik sowie visueller Kultur. 2014 hat sie ihren MA in Kunstgeschichte mit einer Arbeit zu queerer Visualität, Repräsentation und Traumaan der McGill University (Montreal) erhalten. Augenblicklich arbeitet sie an ihrer Promotion in Performance Studies an der University of California, Berkeley.  Seit 2008 ist sie im Institut für Queer Theory aktiv.

Während ihrer* Zeit in Berlin (2008-2012) hat sie sowohl das Alltagsgeschenen als auch die inhaltlich-konzeptionelle Arbeit unterstützt: Unter anderem hat sie die Veranstaltung „Geocultures & Panic: Perverted“ (2008), die Tagung „Queer Futurities – today“ (2009) und den Workshop „The Sexual Politics of Utopia“ (2009) mit organisiert sowie die Kurzfilmprogramme  „Oh Economy, Up Yours“ (Berlin 2010) und „Against the Grain. Utopic Visions That Can’t be Stopped“ (Berlin 2009) zusammengestellt. Von 2011-2017 hat sie zusammen mit Antke Engel die Veranstaltungsreihe Bossing Images. Die Macht der Bilder, queere Kunst und Politik kuratiert. Sie hat das Buch Bossing Images (NGBK, 2012) mit konzipiert und redaktionell betreut.

Jule Jakob Govrin

Jule Jakob Govrin lebt und arbeitet als Philosophin, Queertheoretikerin und  Literaturwissenschaftlerin in Berlin. Ihre* Forschungsfelder sind Begehrenstheorien, Körperphilosophien, poststrukturalistische Sprach- und Machttheorien, feministische Philosophien, Literaturtheorie. Nach dem Studium der Philosophie, der Komparatistik und der Französischen Philologie an der FU Berlin und Paris VIII arbeitet sie* gegenwärtig an dem Promotionsprojekt Aufbegehren und Begierden. Begehrensökonomien in philosophischer und poetologischer Perspektive.

Sie* ist mit der Vorbereitung der Konferenz Desiring Just Economies / Just Economies of Desire (2010) ins Institut eingestiegen. Von 2013-2016 hat sie Antke Engel aktiv in allen Dimensionen des Alltagsgeschehens unterstützt und war maßgeblich an der Konzeption der Vortragsreihe Desire’s Multiplicity and Serendipity (2014/2015) beteiligt. 2016 hat sie* Lust an Komplexität und Irritation. 10 Jahre Institut für Queer Theory mit herausgegeben.