2015

lil BLK

Nic Kay
performance and talk. Sat 24 Oct, 2015, Berlin-Kreuzberg

lil BLK is an experimental solo performance. Influenced by New York City gay/queer ballroom culture, live punk shows, butoh, and praise dance. lil BLK is a story about a fairy boi, child of god, little black girl, performer, and activist. Through the exploration of theatrical form, Nic Kay plays through a series of biographical moments that wrestle with the desires and the traps of being a black performer searching for freedom on the stage and in a beat.

Continue reading

Queer Aesthetics

Workshop
24 October, 2015

Based on short, inspiring, provocative quotes on queer aesthetics by thinkers of diverse backgrounds as well as a variety of (audio-) visual material, this workshop initiates a polylogue between artistic and theoretical approaches. Participants are invited to engage with each other and the material. Taking seriously the agency of art and theory, we develop and discuss understandings of queer audio-visual culture and its potential to intervene in a complexity of racist, sexist, heteronormative, ableist, and occidentalist structures. What does it mean, to rewrite violent histories and to invent futures from multiple and diverse queer perspectives – and with a little help from queer art and cultural politics?

Continue reading

Art+Resistance
Visual Acts, Queer Interventions, and Activism

Countering violence through visual activism.
public presentations, Raumerweiterungshalle, Berlin-Friedrichshain, 17. July 2015

In countering sexualized, gendered, and racialized violence. through audio, visual, and performative activism. Where do political strategies and artistic strategies meet – or collide? How do queer cultural interventions become empowering? How do geopolitical conditions, historical legacies, and personal experiences influence forms of queer cultural activism? How do resistant aesthetics and aesthetic/artistic resistance interact?

Continue reading

The Sexual and the Queerness of the Drive

Teresa de Lauretis
lecture, Institute for Cultural Inquiry (ICI), Berlin, 2. July 2015
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 8

Laplanche proposes that the sexual drive is not innate or endogenous but is constituted as an effect of seduction, repression, and translation. In the context of Laplanche’s theory of the sexual, the lecture examines the difference between drive and desire, the function of the concepts of castration and the Oedipus complex, the relations of sexuality and gender, and the nature of sublimation.

Continue reading

Sex. Just say no

Leo Bersani
lecture, Institute for Cultural Inquiry (ICI), Berlin, 18. June 2015
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 7

Foucault’s problematizing of the nature and even the existence of sexuality and sex is itself problematic. It should perhaps be seen as an important if somewhat late moment in the modern project of re-defining , or at the very least rearranging the terms of human intimacies.

Continue reading

Un_learning Racialized Intimacies

workshop and readings
Café Rosi ich bin im Park, Berlin, 6. June 2015

When speaking of racialized intimacies, we do not only mean erotic and sexual relationships but also friendships as well as political contexts, which are fuelled or underlain by intimacies. While facing the fact that these relationships of choice do not exist beyond colonial histories or a neo-colonial and racist presence, we would still like to ask: Is queering possible? Can it be productive to take such forms of intimacy into account, as well as the promises, desires, fears, and anxieties that are entangled in the intertwining of racialization and eroticization? Short texts by Audre Lorde will serve as points of departure for our reflection process.

Continue reading

Challenging the Neocolonial
Queer and Diasporic Forms of Un_learning

workshop series
various locations in Berlin

The series of workshops and public events seeks to challenge the colonial matrix of power and its legacies in different manifestations of intimacy in our everyday interactions. How do colonial, imperial, and racialized histories enter into, shape, and influence various forms of intimate relationships (queer, sexual, political, platonic, domestic)? And how can we contest and rework these histories through practices of un_learning? What does “un_learning” mean? What does the queer gap do to Spivak’s call to “unlearn one’s privileges”? How can we find new ways of facing the tensions and fractions within queer, feminist, queer of colour, anti-racist movements?

Continue reading

Gender, Violence, and Visual Activism

series of workshops
2014-2016 in south africa and germany

a series of three workshops that focus on questions of visuality, visual culture, and art in order to widen perspectives on sexualized and gendered violence. The project asks both about the potential violence of images and the semiotics, aesthetics, and effects of images of violence. It aims at exploring what the term visual activism means in different contexts and at different times.

Continue reading

Politics of Unthinkable Desire:
On Love, Jealousy, and the Telephone

Jelisaveta Blagojević
Tue 28 April 2015, ICI Berlin
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 5

In this talk, Blagojević used the notions of love and jealousy to point out how the Western, self-possessive, self-reflexive, and self-affective subject has constructed itself. The talk also dealt with Jean-Luc Nancy’s concept of singular being to propose a sexually differentiated yet non-oppositional concept of “woman” – which might still serve as another name for the multiplicity of sexes that corresponds to the multiplicity of desires.

Continue reading

2015

lil BLK

Nic Kay
Nic Kay (Chicago) präsentiert Auszüge aus der Performance und hält einen performativen Vortrag. 24. Oktober 2015, Berlin-Kreuzberg

lil BLK ist eine experimentelle Soloperformance, beeinflusst von der schwul/queeren New Yorker Ballsaalkultur, Punkkonzerten, Butoh und Lobestanz. Zugleich ist es eine Geschichte über einen fairy boi, ein Gotteskind, ein kleines Schwarzes Mädchen, Performer und Aktivistin. Im Erkunden der theatralen Form spielt sich Nich Kay durch eine Reihe von biografischen Momenten, die mit Begehren ringen, und den Fallen darin, ein*e Schwarze*n Performer*in auf der Suche nach Freiheit auf der Bühne zu sein.

Continue reading

Queere Ästhetik

Workshop
24. Oktober 2015, Berlin

Was macht das Queere queerer Ästhetik aus? Zeigt sie bestimmte Effekte? Nimmt sie bestimmte Formen an? Erwächst sie aus bestimmten künstlerischen Strategien? Wie verknüpfen sich Politik und Ästhetik? Anhand kurzer, provokativer Zitate und einer Auswahl künstlerischer Arbeiten inszeniert der Workshop einen Polylog zwischen Teilnehmenden und dem audio-visuell-intellektuell-affektivem Material. Wie entstehen Möglichkeiten, mittels kultureller Politiken in rassistische, sexistische, körper- und heteronormative sowie okzidentalistische Strukturen einzugreifen? Was heißt es, Gewaltgeschichten umzuarbeiten und Zukünftigkeit zu eröffnen?

Continue reading

Kunst+Widerstand
Visuelle Akte, queere Interventionen und Aktivismus

Durch visuellen Aktivismus der Gewalt entgegentreten.
Öffentliche Präsentationen, Raumerweiterungshalle, Berlin-Friedrichshain, 17. Juli 2015

Wie beeinflussen geopolitische Bedingungen, historisches Erbe und persönliche Erfahrung queeren kulturellen Aktivismus und dessen Formen? Was versteht wer und warum als „widerständige Ästhetik“? Wie verbinden oder reiben sich ästhetische und politische Strategien? Anhand konkreter künstlerischer Arbeiten und mittels gemeinsamer Praxis werden unterschiedliche Formen ausgelotet, mittels derer künstlerischer Widerstand und visueller Aktivismus sexualisierte, gegenderte und rassifizierte Gewalt kontern.

Continue reading

Das Sexuelle und die Queerness des Triebes

Teresa de Lauretis
Vortrag, Institute for Cultural Inquiry (ICI), Berlin, 2. Juli 2015
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 8

Teresa de Lauretis erforscht die Frage, ob sich eine „queer figure of the drive“ denken lässt, welche kanonische Begehrensmodelle übersteigt. In ihrer Rekonzeptualisierung des Sexuellen, wie es Laplanche beschrieben hat, stellt sie einen Triebbegriff vor, der in seiner Ambivalenz und Opazität kulturell-normative Binaritäten unterwandert.

Continue reading

Sex. Sag einfach nein

Leo Bersani
Vortrag, Institute for Cultural Inquiry (ICI), Berlin, 18. Juni 2015
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 7

Leo Bersani zeigt in seiner Lektüre von Freud, Foucault und D. H. Lawrence auf, wie sich Räume des Intimen denken lassen, die nicht im Zeichen von unterdrücktem oder ausgelebtem sexuellem Begehren stehen, sondern in ihrer Heterotopie Subjektivierungen entgrenzen.

Continue reading

rassisierte intimität ver_lernen

Workshop und Lesungen
é Rosi ich bin im Park, Berlin, 6. Juni 2015

Wenn wir von rassisierter Intimität sprechen, meinen wir auch Freundschaften sowie politische Kontexte, die von Nähe geprägt sind. Wir halten es für politisch interessant, uns mit solcher Intimität zu befassen; ebenso wie mit Versprechen, Wünschen, Befürchtungen und Ängsten, die mit den Verschränkungen von Rassisierung und Erotisierung einhergehen. Wie fließen Gewaltgeschichten sowie koloniale, rassistische und antisemitische, hetero- und körpernormative, homo- und transphobe Erbschaften in unser Wahrnehmen und Denken ein? Kurze Texte von Audre Lorde inspirieren die Diskussion.

Continue reading

Neokoloniale Verhältnisse herausfordern
Queere und diasporische Formen des Ver_lernens

Workshop-Reihe
an diversen Orten in Berlin

Das Erbe kolonialer Macht und Herrschaft prägt heutige Gesellschaft. Es findet durchaus auch Wege in aktivistische, freundschaftliche und intime Beziehungen der queer-feministischen Bewegungen. In Workshops und mittels künstlerisch-kultureller Praxen wollen wir versuchen, unsere – je unterschiedliche – Einbindung in neokoloniale Muster zu verstehen und Formen rassisierter Intimität zu ver_lernen. Der Begriff des Ver_lernens verweist auf Gayatri Spivaks Ausdruck, „to unlearn our privileges“; wobei wir von einer komplexen Vielfalt der Privilegien und Diskriminierungen ausgehen.

Continue reading

Begehren, Freundschaft und die Intimität des Schwarzen Atlantik

Serena Dankwa and Jafari Allen
Vorträge und Dialog, Do 28. Mai 2015, 19.30 ICI Berlin
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 6

In ihrem Vortrag stellt Serena Dankwa ihre Studie über gleichgeschlechtliche Intimität zwischen Frauen in Ghana vor und Jafari S. Allen präsentiert seine Forschung zu transnationalem Schwarzem Begehren nach politischer Emanzipation. Im gemeinsamen Gespräch widmen sie sich postkolonialen Schauplätzen, an denen Begehren als (erotische) Kraft, Freundschaft und Intimität ausgehandelt wird.

Continue reading

Gender, Gewalt und visueller Aktivismus

Workshop-Duo, Kapstadt, November 2014 / Berlin, Juli 2015

Das Projekt befasst sich mit Visualität, visueller Kultur und Kunst, um kritische Perspektiven auf sexualisierte und vergeschlechtlichte Gewalt zu erweitern. Welche Formen visuellen Aktivismus finden sich in queeren und feministischen Kontexten in Südafrika und Deutschland? Was bedeutet es, mittels Fotografie, Performance und Medienarbeit Formen normativer, symbolischer, psychischer und physischer Gewalt anzufechten? Gilt es Gewalt anzuklagen oder die Möglichkeitsbedingungen von Gewalt zu untergraben? Wie gehen Aktivist*innen mit der Schwierigkeit um, dass Bilder selbst gewaltsam wirken können?

Continue reading