2014

Gender, Violence, and Visual Activism

series of workshops
2014-2016 in south africa and germany

a series of three workshops that focus on questions of visuality, visual culture, and art in order to widen perspectives on sexualized and gendered violence. The project asks both about the potential violence of images and the semiotics, aesthetics, and effects of images of violence. It aims at exploring what the term visual activism means in different contexts and at different times.

Continue reading

What is Sex for?

David Halperin
lecture, Wednesday, 5. November 2014, ICI Berlin
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 2

Wandering through the eras from Aristotelian syllogisms to global, late-capitalist sex culture in bath houses, the historian David Halperin muses about the pros and cons and whys of sex.

Continue reading

Political Aesthetics of Drag

Shaka Mc Glotten
Talk 15 October 2014, ICI Berlin
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 1

The anthropologist Shaka McGlotten explores in his ethnographic studies the subversive politics of drag, and questions the desire of resistance in different subcultural settings.
Drag can be a means of touching queer and other publics, or of mediating one’s economic precarity. It can function as art by other means, or by any means necessary. And like politics, drag can be a duty, a contentious pleasure, or something to dread.

Continue reading

Bossing Images
The Power of Images, Queer Art, and Politics

event series began in 2012

The relationship between images and their audiences is often a little bit bossy. Subjects boss images around to serve their ideological goals. Images boss subjects around, for instance by suggesting they conform to heteronormative ideals. The same can be said about the production process: In cultural practices and art making, producers co-opt images, but images may also capture the producer and make them subject themselves. Through mutual desire, images and subjects engage in illicit transgressions of their hierarchized relationships.

Continue reading

2014

Gender, Gewalt und visueller Aktivismus

Workshop-Duo, Kapstadt, November 2014 / Berlin, Juli 2015

Das Projekt befasst sich mit Visualität, visueller Kultur und Kunst, um kritische Perspektiven auf sexualisierte und vergeschlechtlichte Gewalt zu erweitern. Welche Formen visuellen Aktivismus finden sich in queeren und feministischen Kontexten in Südafrika und Deutschland? Was bedeutet es, mittels Fotografie, Performance und Medienarbeit Formen normativer, symbolischer, psychischer und physischer Gewalt anzufechten? Gilt es Gewalt anzuklagen oder die Möglichkeitsbedingungen von Gewalt zu untergraben? Wie gehen Aktivist*innen mit der Schwierigkeit um, dass Bilder selbst gewaltsam wirken können?

Continue reading

Wofür der Sex?

David Halperin
Vortrag Mittwoch 5. November 2014, ICI Berlin
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 2

In einem anekdotischen Spaziergang quer durch die Epochen von aristotelischen Syllogismen bis zur globalen spätkapitalistischen Sexkultur in Badehäusern sinniert der Historiker David Halperin über das Für, Wider und Warum von Sex.

Continue reading

Die politische Ästhetik des Drag

Shaka Mc Glotten
Vortrag 15. Oktober 2014, ICI Berlin
desire’s multiplicity and serendipity 1

Der Anthropologe Shaka McGlotten erkundet in seinen ethnografischen Studien die subversiven Politiken des Drag und fragt nach dem Widerstandsbegehren in verschiedenen subkulturellen Kontexten.

Continue reading

Bossing Images
Die Macht der Bilder, queere Kunst und Politik

Veranstaltungsreihe, Januar bis Juni 2012, Juni 2013, Februar 2014, ff.

Bossing Images versetzt die Machtbeziehungen zwischen Bildern, ihren Produzent*innen, Kritiker*innen und ihrem Publikum in Bewegung. Das „Bild“ erhält die Chance, zwischen Kunstobjekt, Phantasiebild und Metapher zu changieren. In experimentellen Settings inszeniert Bossing Images von Macht und Begehren bewegte Begegnungen und fragt: Wie lassen sich die Machtrelationen der Produktion und Rezeption in Bewegung versetzen? Der Titel spielt mit Doppeldeutigkeit: Er nennt das Bild Boss, sieht aber auch, wie es herumkommandiert oder funktionalisiert wird. Zugleich wirft Bossing Images die Frage nach den Kontexten und Bedingungen auf, unter denen Bilder Macht entfalten. Bossiness ist hierarchisch, machtgesättigt, von Begehren durchdrungen – und beinhaltet Momente des Scheiterns.

Continue reading

Bodies with New Organs:
Becoming Trans, Becoming Disabled

Jasbir Puar
Lecture, May 12, 2014, ICI Berlin

In this talk Jasbir Puar historically situates the most current intersectional flavours of the day, ‘trans’ and ‘disabled’, which both come into being, or becoming, in the early 90s in the academy as well as in broader political terms and movements. She looks at how their parallel yet rarely intersecting epistemological constructs require exceptionalizing both the trans body and the disabled body in order to convert the debility of a non-normative body into a form of social and cultural capacity,

Continue reading

bindende_gebundene toxine

Bossing Images 6
Veranstaltung, Freiburg, 15. Februar 2014.
Guests: Toxic (2012), Mel Y. Chen, Bernadett Settele, Ann Cvetkovich

Giftig werden? Als Gift bezeichnet werden? Vergiftet leben?

Continue reading