When does it become violence?

Countering day-to-day violence through queer cultures of conflict

a series of events starting in November 2017 at aquarium (Südblock), Berlin-Kreuzberg

Concept: Antke Engel und Ferdiansyah Thajib

Is it possible to counter day-to-day violence through queer cultures of conflict? This series of events looks at the multiple shapes that violence takes and calls for a queer answer of how to affectively and effectively counter widespread normative, symbolic and epistemic violence.

  • How to engage with the different forms of violence, which can range from humiliation, sexual assault, day-to-day racism, emotional blackmail, dispossession, impoverishment, the asylum system, terror, discrimination by state institutions, war, to the war on terror? Does the term gain from or lose precision due to these different meanings?
  • How to disrupt hate and symbolic violence, which is by now widespread in social media and public encounters? Notably, in right wing polemics against feminism, gender studies and queer politics, which translate gender politics into a means of fostering racism.
  • Finally, what would “queer cultures of conflict” look like amidst the ongoing shadows of structural inequality and a historical legacy of violence? How may queer ways of dealing with conflict effectively counter normative, symbolic and epistemic violence?

Let us turn the aquarium into a space, where people feel welcome in bringing their particular social and geopolitical backgrounds, their diverse bodies and capabilities, their various wishes, values, interests, and aims. Let us invent ways of finding pleasure in talking with each other in respect, friendship, humor, sincerity, and conflict. Queer sociality as queer vision.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thu 16 November 2017, 6-10pm (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
Epistemic Violence – queer, feminist, and antimilitaristic perspectives
Talk and Workshop with Claudia Brunner and Thomas Mickan (in German!)
> more

Tue 05 December 2017, 7pm (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
Butler Trouble: Queerness and Violence
Talk and discussion with Terrell Carver (University of Bristol, UK), in English
> more

Thu 25 January 2018, 7pm (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
The Right to Provoke: Free Speech, Hate Speech, and the Politics of Censorship
talk (in German) and discussion (Engl./German) with Nikita Dhawan
> more

Fr 11 May 2018, 7pm (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
Solidarity in Conflicts
Urmila Goel, Najwa Ouguerram and Sabine Mohamed in discussion with each other and the audience, in German, partly in English, translated into DGS (German Sign Language)
> more

Sat 27 October, 2018, 6pm (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
Deaf Stress Factor: Hearing Ignorance
an evening on audism and deaf culture
with Xenia Dürr, Silvia Gegenfurtner, Simone Lönne, Kai Nantchouang Fotso, Melanie Loy
> more

note also: Don’t Panic!
Moralizing and polarizing are not the only options (Dec 2017)

Wann wird es Gewalt?

Queere Konfliktkulturen gegen alltägliche Gewalt

eine Veranstaltungsreihe des iQt, ab November 2017 im aquarium (Südblock), Berlin-Kreuzberg

2017WannGewalt

Gewalt kommt in unterschiedlichster Gestalt daher und hat verschiedenste Hintergründe. Für viele ist sie alltäglich. Manche erfahren „Normalität“ als Form der Gewalt. Die Veranstaltungsreihe beruht auf der These, dass sich Gewalt durch queere Konfliktkulturen kontern lässt. Doch: „Was sind queere Konfliktkulturen?“ Und: „Was gilt als Gewalt?“

  • Was unterscheidet Hohn und Demütigung, sexualisierte Übergriffe, Alltagsrassismus, Armut, Zwangsräumung, psychische Traumatisierung, Krieg, Terror und Diskriminierung in Ämtern und Behörden? Der Gewaltbegriff wird für ganz Unterschiedliches verwendet. Verliert oder gewinnt er dadurch an Brauchbarkeit?
  • Symbolische Gewalt und von Hass geprägte Formen der Auseinandersetzung sind in sozialen Medien und öffentlicher Rede mittlerweile gang und gäbe. Wie lässt sich auf rechte Polemiken gegen Feminismus, Gender Studies und Queer Politik antworten, die Geschlechterpolitik nutzen, um Rassismus zu verbreiten? Wie lässt sich in einer Weise antworten, die nicht ihrerseits polarisiert und Stereotype verbreitet?
  • Vor allem aber, wie entstehen queere Konfliktkulturen, die gewaltsame Strukturen, Ungleichheitsverhältnisse und historische Erbschaften ernst nehmen, aber auch Lust an Komplexität und Irritation fördern?

Wir möchten im aquarium einen Raum schaffen, wo sich Menschen mit ihren unterschiedlichen sozialen und geopolitischen Hintergründen, ihren diversen Körpern und Befähigungen, ihren jeweiligen Wünschen, Werten, Interessen und Zielen willkommen fühlen. Eingeladen sind alle, die dazu beitragen möchten, ernsthaft, respektvoll und humorvoll, freundschaftlich und konfliktfreudig miteinander zu sprechen – und queere Visionen zu entwickeln.

Konzept: Antke Engel und Ferdiansyah Thajib

Do 16.11.2017, 18:00-22:00 Uhr (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
Epistemische Gewalt. Was ist und tut sie, und warum sollten wir das wissen? Überlegungen für queere, feministische und antimilitaristische Politiken
Vortrag und Workshop mit Claudia Brunner und Thomas Mickan
> mehr Infos

Dienstag, 05. Dezember 2017, 19:00 Uhr (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
Butler Trouble: Queerness and Violence
Vortrag und Diskussion mit Terrell Carver (in English)
> mehr Infos

Donnerstag, 25. Januar 2018, 19:00 Uhr (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
Das Recht zu provozieren: Redefreiheit, Hate Speech und die Politik der Zensur
Vortrag (deutsch) und Diskussion (dt./engl) mit Nikita Dhawan
> mehr Infos

Freitag, 11. Mai 2018 , 19:00 Uhr (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
Solidarität im Konflikt
Podiumsdiskussion und Publikumsgespräch
mit Urmila Goel, Najwa Ouguerram und Sabine Mohamed
dt. / engl. , mit Verdolmetschung in DGS
> mehr Infos

Samstag 27. Oktober 2018, 18:00 (aquarium/Südblock, Berlin Kreuzberg)
Tauber Stressfaktor: Hörende Ignoranz
Veranstaltung zu Audismus
mit Xenia Dürr, Silvia Gegenfurtner, Simone Lönne, Kai Nantchouang Fotso, Melanie Loy
> mehr Infos

s. a. Don’t Panic!
Es gibt Alternativen zum Moralisieren und Polarisieren (Dez. 2017)